History Center hands out annual awards

From left: Justine Trucksess, Matt Jackson, Ophelia Chambliss, Franklin Grove Jr., John Crawmer,
Carol Tanzola, David Raymond, Michael Graham, Eric Gimbi Jr., Kathy Tendler, Howard Tendler
and Jack Kay. Eric Menzer was absent when the photo was taken.

The History Center held its annual meeting and awards event Sept. 14, presenting six awards to community members and organizations for their contributions to increasing awareness of York County’s history.

The award recipients are:

  • Chair’s Award: Kim Hogeman and Jack Kay, Yorktowne Hotel project
  • Heritage Profile Award: Ophelia Chambliss
  • Lila Fourhman-Shaull Spirit Award: The Bobblehead George team of David Raymond, Michael Graham and Eric Gimbi Jr.

Community Heritage Awards

  • Business: York Revolution, represented by Eric Menzer
  • Local Historical Organization: Friends of Camp Security, represented by Carol Tanzola and John Crawmer
  • Government/Civic Organization: Heart of Hanover Trails, represented by Matt Jackson and Justine Trucksess

Volunteers of the Year

  • Franklin Grove Jr., longtime volunteer in the Library & Archives
  • Howard and Kathy Tendler, volunteer historical re-enactors and members of the Friends of the York County History Center

You can find videos about each of the winners below or on our YouTube channel here.

Chair’s Award

Kim Hogeman and Jack Kay
Yorktowne Hotel Project

Heritage Profile Award

Ophelia Chambliss

Lila Fourhman-Shaull
Inspiration Award

The Bobblehead George Team

Community Award,

The York Revolution
Eric Menzer

Community Award,
Local History Organization

Friends of Camp Security
John Crawmer and Carol Tanzola

Community Award,

Heart of Hanover Trails
Matt Jackson and Justine Trucksess

Volunteers of the Year

Franklin Grove Jr.

Volunteers of the Year

Howard and Kathy Tendler

©2024 York County History Center.
All Rights Reserved.
Terms of Use | Privacy Policy