Distinguished Speaker Series

Tickets on sale starting Jan. 30 for History Center members (prices starting at $75) and Feb. 10 to the general public (prices starting at $90).

Larson is a master of narrative non-fiction. His vividly written books have won several awards and been published worldwide. “Dead Wake: The Last Crossing of the Lusitania,” about the 1915 sinking of the ocean liner Lusitania, was No. 1 on the New York Times Bestseller list. “In the Garden of Beasts: Love, Terror and an American Family in Hitler’s Berlin” is a vivid portrait of the American ambassador and his family in Berlin during the first years of Hitler’s reign from which Larson has crafted a gripping, deeply intimate narrative. His critically acclaimed book “The Devil in the White City” intertwines the stories of the Chicago 1893 World’s Fair and one of America’s worst serial killers. It remained on the New York Times best-seller lists for a combined total of more than six years, won an Edgar Award for nonfiction crime writing, was nominated for the National Book Award, and was voted one of the 125 most important books of the last 125 years by the New York Public Library.

Erik Larson graduated summa cum laude from the University of Pennsylvania, where he studied Russian history, language and culture. He also received a master’s degree in journalism from Columbia University. After a brief stint at the Bucks County Courier Times, Larson became a staff writer for The Wall Street Journal, and later a contributing writer for Time magazine. He has written articles for The Atlantic, Harper’s, The New Yorker, and other publications.

Distinguished Speaker Series events, held every three years, are fundraisers for the History Center.

Sponsorships are available now!  For more information CLICK HERE!


Event Details

Erik Larson

Upcoming Events

February 5, 2023

South Central Pennsylvania Genealogical Society


February 11, 2023

Second Saturday Series


February 14, 2023

Homeschool Days


February 15, 2023

York Civil War Roundtable


©2023 York County History Center.
All Rights Reserved.
Terms of Use | Privacy Policy